Replacing objects.

Infinate

Hello,

I've recently started a new project.

I'm fairly new to scripting and my LUA knowledge is close to 0.

But I wanted to make my first script..

And unlike most, I thought, Why should I make those "simple" scripts like a welcome message with my noobish LUA skills if I can also make something AWESOME with my LUA skills.

I started browsing the wiki and quickly came accros a few functions that would be enough for me.

My idea was to port a complete map mod into MTA.

I chose Gostown to learn how to port complete map mods into MTA. I figured, once I got the hang of it. I could start making my own map mod, then port it to MTA and release it to the public.

So I started scripting.

The whole script basicly looks like this;

txd = engineLoadTXD( "TXD/Gp_landbig.txd" ) 
col = engineLoadCOL( "COL/Gp_land050.col" ) 
dff = engineLoadDFF( "DFF/Gp_land01.dff", 0 ) 

engineImportTXD( txd, 5000 ) 
engineReplaceCOL( col, 5000 ) 
engineReplaceModel( dff, 5000 ) 

This example here is supposed to replace model ID 5000 with a custom TXD, COL and DFF.

Now I did this over and over with 200+ objects.

I also used a converter to turn the IPL file into a .map file for MTA.

And then the moment came... I finished it.. I wanted to start the script and...

The thing is completely bugged.

Parts of the map keep loading and unloading, MTA became REALLY unstable, client crashes every 2 minutes.

NO collision whatsoever. (I must add, the whole map uses 1 COL file; COL/Gp_land050.col, so I used this col file for every model, same goes for the texture, but since the texture was shown perfect on every object, I figured there was no problem.)

Draw distance is just sad.